Content

Cost unit

Financial support is available for technical equipment for the workplace and the working environment. The scope of costs depends on the individual case.

The support services are intended to assist people with a disability or impending disability in their working lives. The assistance is aimed at maintaining jobs or training positions, ensuring long-term employability and preventing a deterioration in health through preventive measures. As a result, financial assistance can be applied for even before the onset of a disability (e.g. as part of company integration management).

The legal basis is formed by the benefits for participation in working life (§ 49, 50 SGB IX), which are paid by the rehabilitation agencies. In addition, the integration offices (also known as inclusion offices) provide accompanying assistance in working life (§ 185 SGB IX, in conjunction with § 19 and § 26 SchwbAV) for people with a recognized severe disability or equality.

Services and cost units

If a disability has already occurred or is threatened by a prolonged illness, employees and young people in vocational training are entitled to technical aids to ensure their participation in working life. Apart from motor vehicle and housing aids, where technical aids are also used in a broader sense, assistive products and technical work aids are personal, mobile products (e.g. Braille displays, arthrodesis chairs).

Assistive products for the profession

Assistive products necessary for the job (§ 49 para. 8 no. 4 SGB IX) are medical therapy products such as hearing aids or orthopaedic shoes. They are necessary in this occupational context for typical requirements of a specific job or to increase occupational safety. Therefore, they do not fall under the obligation to pay benefits of the statutory health insurance.

For example, orthopaedic work safety shoes for a worker with a foot disability are a benefit for occupational participation, whereas orthopaedic shoes that are generally intended to compensate for a walking disability in everyday life and at work are considered a medical benefit.

Technical work aids

Technical work aids (§ 49 para. 8 no. 5 SGB IX, § 19 SchwbAV) are in principle any work furniture, vehicles, machines, tools or hardware and software that compensate for disability-related disadvantages in the activity. These can be custom-made or commercially available products such as screen readers, one-hand keyboards, forklifts with low access or special protective work clothing. Funding is provided as a grant up to the full cost and includes initial and replacement purchase, maintenance, repair, and vocational training in use.

Motor vehicle assistance

If employees with severe disabilities have to use a motor vehicle to reach their place of work or training, income-related motor vehicle assistance is available for disability-related additional equipment in a motor vehicle (e.g., steering wheel adaptations, body conversions). The subsidy is possible up to the full amount of the installation and repair costs (see § 49 SGB IX, § 20 SchwbAV i. V. m. Kraftfahrzeughilfe-Verordnung).

Housing assistance

Employees with severe disabilities can receive grants and interest subsidies for housing suitable for disabled people (see § 49 SGB IX, § 22 SchwbAV). The financial benefit is available for obtaining housing suitable for disabled people (e.g., job change, more convenient location) or for housing adaptations suitable for disabled people. You can find out more on the barrier-free housing page.

Companies can receive financial assistance in the form of grants and loans up to the full cost if they equip new or existing workplaces and training centers with work aids suitable for disabled people or make the workplace barrier-free - for example, by providing suitable access, escape routes or sanitary facilities. Workplaces for temporary employees and part-time employees are also eligible for funding (§ 156 SGB IX, § 26 SchwbAV).

The amount of funding depends on the individual case and may depend on the following criteria:

  • Degree of impairment of the person with disabilities
  • current labor market situation (in case of imminent job loss)
  • investment costs
  • Rationalization effect
  • amount of the additional expenses due to the disability
  • Performance of the company

The page on barrier-free work places provides further general information.

Investment aid for new jobs and training places

If a company sets up a new, previously non-existent workplace for a worker or trainee with a severe disability, grants and loans for the general investment costs (see § 15 SchwbAV) are possible. New jobs are created, for example, through new hires or operational relocations if the old workplace is eliminated and termination is imminent.

Regular investment costs are the non-disability-related costs that would also be incurred when hiring employees without disabilities (e.g., common work equipment such as furniture, computers, software) or generally improve working conditions (e.g., software updates).

The amount of funding depends on the individual case. However, companies are expected to make a reasonable contribution to the overall costs.

Design of workplaces and training centers suitable for disabled people

The service providers grant subsidies and loans for the design of workplaces and workstations suitable for disabled people, including plant, machinery and equipment.

The subsidy can be up to the full amount of the costs. It covers initial and replacement procurement, maintenance and repair, as well as training in the use of the subsidized work aids.

As a framework law, SGB IX regulates the general legal provisions for the provision of services for participation in working life for all service providers. In addition, there is a separate binding social code for each rehabilitation provider according to § 6 SGB IX (e.g. employment agency, pension insurance, accident insurance), which specifies the benefits. For the integration offices/inclusion offices, the regulations are specified in the Severely Disabled Persons Compensation Levy Ordinance (SchwbAV).

For an initial orientation, the service providers can be delimited as follows:

  1. The rehabilitation agencies support people with disabilities or impending disabilities so that they can obtain a workplace or maintain their earning capacity if the disability has newly occurred or the state of health has drastically deteriorated.
  2. The Integration Office / Inclusion Office as an authority always performs subordinate to the rehabilitation agencies and also only in the case of a recognized severe disability or equality.
    Which service provider is responsible ultimately depends on the social laws, the cause of the disability (e.g. accident at work) or the individual insurance periods.

For employees with a 15-year waiting period or who receive a pension due to (partially) reduced earning capacity, the pension insurance institutions are responsible (see § 16 SGB VI in conjunction with § 49 SGB IX). The pension insurance institutions also grant benefits for participation in working life if a pension due to reduced earning capacity would have to be paid without these benefits or if they are necessary for the successful securing of a medical rehabilitation immediately afterwards. Since one of the aims of rehabilitation in pension insurance is to avert or delay a pension due to reduced earning capacity ("rehab before pension"), younger insured persons can also receive benefits for participation in working life without having to fulfill the 15-year waiting period (Section 11 (2a) SGB VI).

The Federal Employment Agency is responsible for workers with less than 15 years of employment subject to social insurance contributions and for trainees. In the context of vocational rehabilitation, the Federal Employment Agency is also responsible for employable persons in need of assistance with disabilities who receive benefits for basic security under SGB II through the job centers (formerly ARGEs) or approved municipal agencies, provided that no other rehabilitation agency is responsible (see SGB III).

Recipients of unemployment benefit II are the responsibility of the job centers (formerly ARGE) or, depending on where they live, the opting municipalities. Job centers are joint institutions of municipalities (districts and independent cities) and employment agencies that, among other things, pay out unemployment benefit II. In some municipalities, the employment agency alone is responsible for paying unemployment benefit II and social benefits as well as for job placement, and the municipality is responsible for housing costs. In some districts and independent cities, the municipality is exclusively responsible for all benefits (Optionskommune).

The statutory accident insurance institutions are responsible for occupational reintegration following accidents at work or on the way to work or occupational illnesses. These include the employers' liability insurance associations (Berufsgenossenschaften), which are organized by industry, the agricultural employers' liability insurance associations (landwirtschaftliche Berufsgenossenschaften), and the accident insurance funds (Unfallkassen).

Integration offices (in some federal states: Inclusion offices) support both employees and companies within the framework of "accompanying assistance in working life" by providing financial assistance from funds from the equalization levy. They also provide advice and information on all issues relating to job participation (§ 185 SGB IX). Integration offices only provide services for employees with a recognized severe disability or equal status, including civil servants and self-employed persons for whom no rehabilitation agency is responsible. They provide benefits subordinate to the rehabilitation agencies and the existing obligations of the employer.

The legal provisions are set out in more detail in the Severely Disabled Persons Compensation Levy Ordinance (SchwbAV). The type and amount of the benefit are determined by the circumstances of the individual case (§ 15 para. 2 SchwbAV). Benefits should only be provided if the company contributes to the total costs in an appropriate proportion. The benefits can be granted as a loan or grant up to the full amount.

The services of the Integration Office are transferred to local welfare offices, depending on the regulations of the federal states.

Eligible beneficiaries are people with a health impairment for whom the community is responsible in a special way. These include, for example, soldiers in the Federal Armed Forces, employees of the Federal Border Guard, victims of acts of violence, vaccination victims, and victims of imprisonment for political reasons in the former GDR or in certain expulsion areas. The bodies responsible for social compensation in the event of health damage are the state pension offices, pension offices, main welfare offices or integration offices (for people with severe disabilities in accordance with SGB IX Part 2) and welfare offices for war victims (Sections 26, 26a BVG). The core of social compensation law is the Federal Benefits Act (BVG), to which the other laws refer as subsidiary laws (e.g. Victims Compensation Act OEG, Prisoners Assistance Act HHG).

People who receive social assistance and are significantly limited physically, mentally or emotionally are entitled to rehabilitation services within the framework of integration assistance, provided that no other institution is responsible. The group of persons entitled to benefits also includes students. The providers of integration assistance are determined by the federal states and can be, for example, the cities, counties, state offices or regional associations (NRW) (see § 111 SGB IX).

Children, adolescents and young adults up to 27 years of age who have a mental disability or are threatened by a disability are entitled to integration assistance. The public youth welfare agencies (youth welfare offices) or the municipalities (independent cities, counties) are responsible for the services, if no other agency is responsible (see § 86 SGB VIII, § 35 a SGB VIII).

Case law

Kostenträger

Für technische Ausstattungen des Arbeitsplatzes und der Arbeitsumgebung gibt es finanzielle Förderleistungen. Der Kostenumfang ist vom Einzelfall abhängig.

Die Förderleistungen sollen Menschen mit einer Behinderung oder drohenden Behinderung im Arbeitsleben unterstützen. Die Hilfen zielen darauf ab, Arbeits- oder Ausbildungsplätze zu erhalten, die Erwerbsfähigkeit langfristig zu sichern und eine Verschlechterung des gesundheitlichen Zustandes durch präventive Maßnahmen zu verhindern. Infolgedessen können die finanziellen Hilfen bereits vor Eintreten einer Behinderung beantragt werden (z.B. im Rahmen des Betrieblichen Eingliederungsmanagements).

Gesetzliche Grundlagen bilden die Leistungen zur Teilhabe am Arbeitsleben (§ 49, 50 SGB IX), welche die Rehabilitationsträger zahlen. Ergänzend leisten die Integrationsämter (auch Inklusionsämter genannt) im Rahmen der Begleitenden Hilfe im Arbeitsleben (§ 185 SGB IX, i. V. m. § 19 und § 26 SchwbAV) für Menschen mit einer anerkannten Schwerbehinderung oder Gleichstellung.

Ausführliche Informationen rund um die Förderhilfen im Arbeitsleben gibt es auch im Portal REHADAT-talentplus.

Wenn eine Behinderung bereits eingetreten ist oder durch eine längere Erkrankung droht, haben Beschäftigte und junge Menschen in der Ausbildung Anspruch auf technische Hilfen, um ihre Teilhabe am Arbeitsleben zu sichern. Abgesehen von den Kfz- und Wohnungshilfen, bei denen im weiteren Sinne auch technische Hilfen eingesetzt werden, handelt es sich bei Hilfsmitteln und technischen Arbeitshilfen um personengebundene, mobile Produkte (z.B. Braillezeilen, Arthrodesenstühle).

Für den Beruf notwendige Hilfsmittel (§ 49 Abs. 8 Nr. 4 SGB IX) sind medizinische Therapieprodukte wie Hörgeräte oder orthopädische Schuhe. Sie sind in diesem beruflichen Kontext für typische Anforderungen einer speziellen Berufstätigkeit oder zur Erhöhung der Arbeitssicherheit erforderlich. Daher fallen sie nicht in die Leistungspflicht der Gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung.

Ein Beispiel: Orthopädische Arbeitssicherheitsschuhe für eine Arbeitskraft mit Fußbehinderung stellen eine Leistung zur beruflichen Teilhabe dar, wohingegen orthopädische Schuhe, die allgemein eine Gehbehinderung im Alltag und Beruf ausgleichen sollen, als medizinische Leistung gelten.

Technische Arbeitshilfen (§ 49 Abs. 8 Nr. 5 SGB IX, § 19 SchwbAV) sind im Prinzip jegliche Arbeitsmöbel, Fahrzeuge, Maschinen, Werkzeug oder Hard- und Software, die behinderungsbedingte Nachteile bei der Tätigkeit ausgleichen. Dies können Sonderanfertigungen oder handelsübliche Produkte wie Bildschirmlesegeräte, Einhandtastaturen, Gabelstapler mit niedrigem Einstieg oder spezielle Arbeitsschutzkleidung sein.

Die Förderung erfolgt als Zuschuss bis zur vollen Höhe der Kosten und umfasst die Erst- und Ersatzbeschaffung, Wartung, Instandhaltung sowie die Ausbildung im Gebrauch.

Wenn Beschäftigte mit Schwerbehinderung ihren Arbeits- oder Ausbildungsplatz mit dem Kraftfahrzeug erreichen müssen, gibt es für behinderungsbedingte Zusatzausstattungen eines Kraftfahrzeuges die einkommensabhängige Kraftfahrzeughilfe (z. B. Lenkradanpassungen, Karosserieumbauten). Die Förderung ist bis zur vollen Höhe der Einbau- und Reparaturkosten möglich (siehe § 49 SGB IX, § 20 SchwbAV i. V. m. Kraftfahrzeughilfe-Verordnung).

Beschäftigte mit Schwerbehinderung können Zuschüsse und Zinszuschüsse für eine behinderungsgerechte Wohnung erhalten (siehe § 49 SGB IX, § 22 SchwbAV). Die finanzielle Leistung ist für die Beschaffung einer behinderungsgerechten Wohnung (z. B. Jobwechsel, verkehrsgünstigere Lage) oder für die behinderungsgerechte Wohnraumanpassung möglich.

Auf der Seite barrierefreies Wohnen erfahren Sie mehr.

Unternehmen können finanzielle Hilfen in Form von Zuschüssen und Darlehen bis zur vollen Kostenhöhe erhalten, wenn sie neue oder bereits vorhandene Arbeits- und Ausbildungsplätze mit Arbeitshilfen behinderungsgerecht ausstatten oder die Arbeitsstätte barrierefrei gestalten - beispielsweise durch geeignete Zugänge, Fluchtwege oder Sanitärräume. Förderberechtigt sind auch Arbeitsplätze für befristet Beschäftigte und Teilzeitbeschäftigte (§ 156 SGB IX, § 26 SchwbAV).

Die Förderhöhe richtet sich nach dem Einzelfall und kann von folgenden Kriterien abhängen:

  • Beeinträchtigungsgrad des Menschen mit Behinderung
  • aktuelle Arbeitsmarktsituation (bei drohendem Arbeitsplatzverlust)
  • Investitionskosten
  • Rationalisierungseffekt
  • Höhe der behinderungsbedingten Mehraufwendungen
  • Leistungsfähigkeit des Unternehmens

Auf der Seite zur barrierefreien Arbeitsstätte gibt es weitere allgemeine Informationen.

Wenn ein Unternehmen einen neuen, bisher nicht vorhandenen Arbeitsplatz für eine Arbeitskraft oder Auszubildenden mit Schwerbehinderung einrichtet, sind Zuschüsse und Darlehen zu den allgemeinen Investitionskosten (siehe § 15 SchwbAV) möglich. Neu geschaffen werden Arbeitsplätze beispielsweise durch Neueinstellungen oder betriebliche Umsetzungen, falls der alte Arbeitsplatz wegfällt und eine Kündigung droht.

Reguläre Investitionskosten sind die nicht behinderungsbezogenen Kosten, die auch bei der Einstellung von Beschäftigten ohne Behinderung anfallen würden (z. B. übliche Arbeitsmittel wie Möbel, Computer, Software) oder allgemein die Arbeitsbedingungen verbessern (z. B. Software-Updates).

Die Förderhöhe richtet sich nach dem Einzelfall. Unternehmen sollen sich aber in angemessenen Umfang an den Gesamtkosten beteiligen.

Für die behinderungsgerechte Gestaltung des Arbeitsplatzes und der Arbeitsstätte einschließlich der Betriebsanlagen, Maschinen und Geräte gewähren die Leistungsträger Zuschüsse und Darlehen.

Die Förderung kann bis zur vollen Höhe der Kosten erfolgen. Sie umfasst die Erst- und Ersatzbeschaffung, die Wartung und Reparatur sowie Schulungen zum Umgang mit den geförderten Arbeitshilfen.

Das SGB IX regelt als Rahmengesetz die allgemeinen gesetzlichen Bestimmungen für die Erbringung von Leistungen zur Teilhabe am Arbeitsleben für alle Leistungsträger. Daneben gibt es für jeden Rehabilitationsträger nach § 6 SGB IX (z. B. Agentur für Arbeit, Rentenversicherung, Unfallversicherung) ein eigenes verbindliches Sozialgesetzbuch, welches die Leistungen konkretisiert. Für die Integrationsämter/Inklusionsämter sind die Regelungen in der Schwerbehinderten-Ausgleichabgabeverordnung (SchwbAV) konkretisiert.

Für eine erste Orientierung lassen sich die Leistungsträger wie folgt abgrenzen:

  1. Die Rehabilitationsträger fördern Menschen mit Behinderung oder drohender Behinderung, damit sie einen Arbeitsplatz erlangen oder ihre Erwerbsfähigkeit erhalten, falls die Behinderung neu eingetreten ist oder sich der Gesundheitszustand drastisch verschlechtert hat.
  2. Das Integrationsamt / Inklusionsamt leistet als Behörde immer nachrangig zu den Rehabilitationsträgern und auch nur bei einer anerkannten Schwerbehinderung oder Gleichstellung.
    Welcher Leistungsträger zuständig ist, hängt letztlich von den Sozialgesetzen, der Behinderungsursache (z. B. Arbeitsunfall) oder den individuellen Versicherungszeiten ab.

Für Beschäftigte mit 15 Jahren Wartezeit oder die eine Rente wegen (teilweise) verminderter Erwerbsfähigkeit beziehen, sind die Träger der Rentenversicherung zuständig (siehe § 16 SGB VI i. V. m. § 49 SGB IX). Die Träger der Rentenversicherung gewähren auch Leistungen zur Teilhabe am Arbeitsleben, wenn ohne diese Leistungen eine Rente wegen verminderter Erwerbsfähigkeit zu leisten wäre oder wenn sie für die erfolgreiche Sicherung einer medizinischen Rehabilitation unmittelbar im Anschluss erforderlich sind. Da die Rehabilitation in der Rentenversicherung u. a. das Ziel hat, Rente wegen verminderter Erwerbsfähigkeit abzuwenden oder hinauszuzögern ("Reha vor Rente"), können auch jüngere Versicherte ohne Erfüllung der 15 Jahre Wartezeit Leistungen zur Teilhabe am Arbeitsleben erhalten (§ 11 Absatz 2a SGB VI).

Für Arbeitskräfte mit weniger als 15 Jahren sozialversicherungspflichtiger Beschäftigung und Auszubildende ist die Bundesagentur für Arbeit zuständig. Im Rahmen der beruflichen Rehabilitation ist die Bundesagentur für Arbeit auch für erwerbsfähige Hilfebedürftige mit Behinderung zuständig, die Leistungen zur Grundsicherung nach SGB II durch die Jobcenter (früher ARGEn) oder zugelassenen kommunalen Träger erhalten, sofern kein anderer Rehabilitationsträger zuständig ist (siehe SGB III).

Für Empfängerinnen und Empfänger von Arbeitslosengeld II sind die Jobcenter (früher ARGE) bzw. je nach Wohnort die optierenden Kommunen zuständig. Jobcenter sind gemeinsame Einrichtungen von Kommunen (Kreise und kreisfreie Städte) und Agenturen für Arbeit, die unter anderem das Arbeitslosengeld II auszahlen. In einigen Kommunen ist allein die Agentur für Arbeit für die Auszahlung von Arbeitslosengeld II und Sozialgeld sowie für die Arbeitsvermittlung zuständig und die Kommune für die Kosten der Unterkunft. In einigen Landkreisen und kreisfreien Städten ist ausschließlich die Kommune für alle Leistungen zuständig (Optionskommune).

Für die berufliche Wiedereingliederung nach Arbeits- und Wegeunfällen oder Berufskrankheiten sind die Träger der gesetzlichen Unfallversicherung zuständig. Dazu zählen die nach Branchen gegliederten Berufsgenossenschaften, die landwirtschaftlichen Berufsgenossenschaften sowie die Unfallkassen.

Integrationsämter (Inklusionsämter) unterstützen sowohl Beschäftigte als auch Unternehmen im Rahmen der „begleitenden Hilfe im Arbeitsleben“ durch finanzielle Hilfen aus Mitteln der Ausgleichsabgabe. Außerdem beraten und informieren sie zu allen Fragen der beruflichen Teilhabe (§ 185 SGB IX). Integrationsämter erbringen nur Leistungen für Beschäftigte mit anerkannter Schwerbehinderung oder Gleichstellung, u. a. auch für Beamtinnen und Beamte sowie Selbständige, für die kein Rehaträger zuständig ist. Sie leisten nachrangig zu den Rehabilitationsträgern und den bestehenden Pflichten des Arbeitgebers oder der Arbeitgeberin.

Die gesetzlichen Bestimmungen sind in der Schwerbehinderten-Ausgleichsabgabeverordnung näher geregelt (SchwbAV). Art und Höhe der Leistung bestimmen sich nach den Umständen des Einzelfalles (§ 15 Abs. 2 SchwbAV). Leistungen sollen nur erbracht werden, wenn sich das Unternehmen in einem angemessenen Verhältnis an den Gesamtkosten beteiligt. Die Leistungen können als Darlehen oder Zuschuss bis zur vollen Höhe gewährt werden.

Die Leistungen des Integrationsamtes sind je nach Länderregelung auf örtliche Fürsorgestellen übertragen.

Anspruchsberechtigt sind Menschen mit einem gesundheitlichen Schaden, für die die Gemeinschaft in besonderer Weise einsteht. Das sind z. B. Bundeswehrsoldatinnen und -soldaten, Bundesgrenzschutzbeschäftigte, Opfer von Gewalttaten, Impfgeschädigte, Geschädigte infolge einer Haft aus politischen Gründen in der früheren DDR oder in bestimmten Vertreibungsgebieten. Träger der sozialen Entschädigung bei Gesundheitsschäden sind die Landesversorgungsämter, Versorgungsämter, Hauptfürsorgestellen beziehungsweise Integrationsämter (für Menschen mit Schwerbehinderung nach SGB IX Teil 2) und Fürsorgestellen für Kriegsopfer (§ 26, 26 a BVG). Kernstück des sozialen Entschädigungsrechts ist das Bundesversorgungsgesetz (BVG), auf das die anderen Gesetze als Nebengesetze Bezug nehmen (z. B. Opferentschädigungsgesetz OEG, Häftlingshilfegesetz HHG).

Menschen, die Sozialhilfe erhalten und körperlich, geistig oder seelisch wesentlich eingeschränkt sind, haben Anspruch auf Rehabilitationsleistungen der Sozialhilfe, sofern kein anderer Träger zuständig ist. Zum anspruchsberechtigten Personenkreis gehören auch Studentinnen und Studenten. Verantwortlich für die Hilfe sind die örtlichen (Landkreise, kreisfreie Städte) und überörtlichen Träger (je nach Landesrecht unterschiedlich) der Sozialhilfe: Landschaftsverbände, Landeswohlfahrtsverbände und Landessozialämter (siehe § 54 SGB XII i. V. m. § 49 SGB IX).

Kinder, Jugendliche und junge Volljährige bis 27 Jahre, die eine seelische Behinderung haben oder von einer Behinderung bedroht sind, haben Anspruch auf Eingliederungshilfe. Zuständig für die Leistungen sind im Wesentlichen die öffentlichen Jugendhilfeträger (Jugendämter) beziehungsweise die Kommunen (kreisfreie Städte, Landkreise), sofern kein anderer Träger zuständig ist (siehe § 86 SGB VIII, § 35 a SGB VIII).