Skip Navigation Hotkeys

Search and Service

Content

Barrier-free workplaces

If a company employs people with disabilities, the workplace must be barrier-free. The barrier-free design must take into account the individual requirements and the assurance of the employees concerned. Good planning aids are provided, for example, by the employers' liability insurance associations.

The interior and exterior of a company can be designed with ramps or automatic door openers so that employees with disabilities can move around without assistance and perform their work independently. Accessibility not only promotes the productivity of employees, but also prevents accidents at work. If companies already take barrier-free design principles into account during new construction and renovation, this pays off economically in the long term. Subsequent adaptation costs are eliminated and workers without disabilities can also benefit from intelligent solutions.

Accessibility refers not only to the workplace, but also to the work equipment such as the hardware and software, doors and stairs, traffic routes, escape routes, emergency exits, orientation systems, lighting, washrooms and toilets or the furniture.

In general, accessible workplaces should meet the following requirements:

  • Perceptibility
  • Recognizability
  • Accessibility
  • Usability
  • controllability by the user

Depending on the needs of the groups of people, the so-called

  1. two-channel-principle (good accessibility and usability) respectively the
  2. two-senses-principle (good perceptibility and recognizability)

should be applied. For example, information can be displayed via visual-tactile or visual-acoustic sensory channels.

Legal and design requirements for barrier-free workplaces are laid down in the Workplace Ordinance (ArbStättV), in the technical rules for workplaces (ASR) and in various DIN standards and ordinances (e.g. DIN 18040 on barrier-free construction, DIN EN ISO 6285 on ergonomics, VDU workplace ordinance).

The central instrument in occupational safety is the risk assessment. A systematic examination of the workplace shows where there are accident or other health risks and what changes are necessary. Escape routes in particular must be taken into account here. Trained occupational safety specialists carry out such risk assessments. The employers' liability insurance associations can also provide advice and support in this regard.

Companies can obtain advice on barrier-free planning and design from the employers' liability insurance associations. In the case of special disability-specific aspects (e.g. visual impairment, hearing impairment), support is provided above all by the technical advisory services of the Integration Office (Inclusion Office) or the Federal Employment Agency.

Help is also available from the Chambers of Crafts, Chambers of Architects and Engineers or experts specialising in accessibility.

Barrierefreie Arbeitsstätten

Der Innen- und Außenbereich eines Betriebes lässt sich durch Rampen oder automatische Türöffner so gestalten, dass sich Beschäftigte mit Behinderung ohne fremde Hilfe bewegen und ihre Arbeit eigenständig ausführen können. Barrierefreiheit fördert nicht nur die Produktivität der Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen, sondern verhindert auch Arbeitsunfälle.

Berücksichtigen Unternehmen bereits beim Neu-und Umbau barrierefreie Gestaltungsprinzipien, zahlt sich dies langfristig wirtschaftlich aus. Nachträgliche Anpassungskosten entfallen und auch Arbeitskräfte ohne Behinderung können von intelligenten Lösungen profitieren.

Barrierefreiheit bezieht sich nicht nur den Arbeitsplatz, sondern auch auf die Arbeitsmittel wie die Hard- und Software, auf Türen und Treppen, Verkehrswege, Fluchtwege, Notausgänge, Orientierungssysteme, Beleuchtung, Wasch- und Toilettenräume oder die Möblierung. 

Allgemein sollten barrierefreie Arbeitsstätten folgende Anforderungen erfüllen:

  • Wahrnehmbarkeit
  • Erkennbarkeit
  • Erreichbarkeit
  • Nutzbarkeit
  • Kontrollierbarkeit durch den Nutzer

Je nach Bedürfnis der Personengruppen ist das so genannte

  1. Zwei-Kanal-Prinzip (gute Erreichbarkeit und Nutzbarkeit) beziehungsweise das
  2. Zwei-Sinne-Prinzip (gute Wahrnehmbarkeit und Erkennbarkeit)

anzuwenden. Informationen lassen sich beispielsweise über visuell-taktile oder visuell-akustische Sinneswege anzeigen.

Rechtliche und gestalterische Anforderungen an barrierefreie Arbeitsstätten sind in der Arbeitsstättenverordnung (ArbStättV), in den technischen Regeln für Arbeitsstätten (ASR) und verschiedenen DIN Normen und Verordnungen festgelegt (z. B. DIN 18040 zum barrierefreien Bauen, DIN EN ISO 6285 zur Ergonomie, Bildschirmarbeitsplatzverordnung).

Zentrales Instrument im Arbeitsschutz ist die Gefährdungsbeurteilung. Eine systematische Prüfung der Arbeitsstätte zeigt, wo es Unfall- oder andere Gesundheitsrisiken gibt und welche Veränderungen notwendig sind.Hier sind vor allem Fluchtwege zu  beachten. Ausgebildete Fachkräfte für Arbeitssicherheit führen solche Gefährdungsbeurteilungen durch. Auch die Berufsgenossenschaften können hierzu beraten und unterstützen.

Unternehmen können sich bei der barrierefreien Planung und Gestaltung von den Berufsgenossenschaften beraten lassen. Bei speziellen behinderungsspezifischen Aspekten (z. B. Sehbehinderung, Hörbehinderung) unterstützen vor allem die Technischen Beratungsdienste des Integrationsamtes (Inklusionsamtes) oder der Bundesagentur für Arbeit.

Hilfe bieten außerdem die Handwerkskammern, Architekten- und Ingenieurskammern oder auf Barrierefreiheit spezialisierte Sachverständige.

Auf der Seite Barrierefreies Wohnen sind diese Beratungshinweise aufgeführt.

Über weitere Beratungsstellen und mögliche Kostenträger (z. B. Integrationsamt, Agentur für Arbeit) für barrierefreie Maßnahmen im Arbeitsleben informiert der Artikel Hilfsmittel für den Beruf.