Application procedure

In the structured social insurance system in Germany, various cost units provide benefits for participation. These include the provision of aids or the provision of technical working aids.

The concrete provisions for these services are regulated in the individual social security codes of the rehabilitation institutions (e.g. health insurance, pension insurance) or in the severely handicapped compensation levy ordinance that applies to the Integration Office. Several cost units can also be involved in a benefit.

Superordinate regulations for the determination of requirements, the participation planning procedure and the clarification of responsibilities that are binding for all cost units are summarised in the German Social Code Book IX (§ 14 ff.).

The aim is to provide the person making the application as quickly and in a coordinated manner as possible, i.e. "as if from one source".

An application for an aid or technical working aid is always made in writing.

The important thing is,

  1. to make the application before the purchase or a barrier-free building measure and
  2. to wait for approval.

Different documents are required depending on the cost unit.

Usually the application includes

  • a medical prescription with a detailed and comprehensible justification
  • any expert reports or discharge report from the rehabilitation clinic and
  • at least one cost estimate.

If it is an application for workplace equipment, additional proof/copies must usually be submitted such as

  • Assessment notice on the degree of disability
  • Severely disabled person's pass
  • Employment contract and job description

Please note that medical aids are not included in the budget of the doctors. The applicant should point this out if doctors refuse to prescribe medical aids due to a limited number of prescriptions.

The cost estimate can be obtained from a service provider (e.g. a medical supply store) or a company that manufactures or sells occupationally relevant aids or technical work aids.

Tip: You will find the contact addresses of the manufacturers and distributors in our product descriptions.

The formal application procedure with the respective deadlines is regulated by the SGB IX (§ 14 ff.).

  1. If the rehabilitation institution to which the application is first sent is also responsible, it becomes the "performing rehabilitation institution" two weeks after receipt of the application.
  2. If this first rehabilitation institution is not responsible, it forwards the application to the second rehabilitation institution within two weeks, which becomes the providing rehabilitation institution if it is responsible.
  3. If this second rehabilitation provider is also not responsible, it can forward the application to the rehabilitation provider that it considers to be responsible by mutual agreement (turbo clarification). The latter becomes the paying rehabilitation institution, even if it is not responsible, and can no longer forward the application.
  4. As a rule, each performing rehabilitation provider must decide on the benefit within three weeks of receipt of the application. This period is extended in the case of a turbo clarification or if expert opinions have to be obtained or if other rehabilitation providers are involved.
  5. If other rehabilitation providers are also partly responsible, the providing rehabilitation provider must involve them and carry out a binding participation plan procedure (§§ 19 - 23 SGB IX-neu) - in a uniform, timely and coherent manner.
  6. In complex cases, the provider of rehabilitation services must conduct a participation plan conference (with the applicant, rehabilitation providers and possibly the Integration Office, if the latter is also a provider of services).

Other important points:

  • The rehabilitation provider must inform the applicant about the status of the application and about the forwarding of the application.
  • The providing rehabilitation provider can split the application and forward it in part.
  • The providing rehabilitation provider has to make advance payments if other competent service providers do not pay on time. The service providers clarify the reimbursement of costs among themselves.
  • The duration of the entire procedure is usually six to eight weeks (without or with expert opinions).
  • The duration for several participating rehabilitation providers (§ 15 SGB IX) is six weeks from receipt of the application by the performing rehabilitation provider and eight weeks if a participation plan conference is necessary for complex cases.
  • If no written notification or an unjustified rejection is received after two months, the application is deemed to have been approved (fictional approval in accordance with § 18 SGB IX - reimbursement of benefits procured by the patient himself). However, this does not apply to institutions of integration assistance, institutions of public youth welfare, institutions of war victims' welfare and the integration offices.
  • If an application is rejected, an appeal can be lodged.

Antragsverfahren

Im gegliederten Sozialversicherungssystem in Deutschland erbringen verschiedene Kostenträger Leistungen zur Teilhabe. Dazu zählt auch die Versorgung mit Hilfsmitteln oder die Ausstattung mit technischen Arbeitshilfen.

Geregelt sind die konkreten Bestimmungen für diese Leistungen in den einzelnen Sozialgesetzbüchern der Rehabilitationsträger (zum Beispiel Krankenversicherung, Rentenversicherung) oder in der Schwerbehinderten-Ausgleichsabgabeverordnung, die für das Integrationsamt gilt. An einer Leistung können auch mehrere Kostenträger beteiligt sein.

Übergeordnete und für alle Kostenträger verbindliche Vorschriften zur Bedarfsermittlung, zum Teilhabeplanverfahren und zur Zuständigkeitsklärung fasst das SGB IX zusammen (§ 14 ff.).

Ziel ist, die antragsstellende Person möglichst schnell und koordiniert, das heißt "wie aus einer Hand" zu versorgen.

Ein Antrag für ein Hilfsmittel oder eine technische Arbeitshilfe erfolgt immer schriftlich.

Wichtig ist,

  1. den Antrag vor dem Kauf oder einer barrierefreien Baumaßnahme zu stellen und
  2. die Genehmigung abzuwarten.

Je nach Kostenträger sind unterschiedliche Unterlagen erforderlich.

In der Regel gehören zum Antrag

  • eine ärztliche Verordnung mit einer detaillierten und nachvollziehbaren Begründung,
  • eventuelle Gutachten oder Entlassungsbericht der Rehaklinik und
  • mindestens ein Kostenvoranschlag.

Handelt es sich um einen Antrag für eine Arbeitsplatzausstattung, sind meist noch weitere Nachweise/Kopien einzureichen wie zum Beispiel:

  • Feststellungsbescheid über den Grad der Behinderung
  • Schwerbehindertenausweis
  • Arbeitsvertrag und Tätigkeitsbeschreibung

Zu beachten ist, dass Hilfsmittel nicht im Budget der Ärzte und Ärztinnen enthalten sind. Darauf sollte die antragsstellende Person hinweisen, falls Ärzte und Ärztinnen eine Hilfsmittelverordnung aufgrund eines begrenzten Kontingents an Verordnungen ablehnen.

Den Kostenvoranschlag erhält man bei einem Leistungserbringer (zum Beispiel Sanitätshaus) oder einer Firma, die berufsrelevante Hilfsmittel oder technische Arbeitshilfen herstellt oder vertreibt.

Tipp: Sie finden in unseren Produktbeschreibungen die Kontaktadressen der Hersteller und Vertreiber.

Das formale Antragsverfahren mit den jeweiligen Fristen regelt das SGB IX (§ 14 ff.).

  1. Ist der Rehabilitationsträger, an den der Antrag zuerst geht auch zuständig, wird dieser zwei Wochen nach Antragseingang zum "leistenden Rehabilitationsträger".
  2. Ist dieser erstangegangene Rehabilitationsträger nicht zuständig, leitet er den Antrag innerhalb von zwei Wochen an den zweiten Rehabilitationsträger weiter, der bei Zuständigkeit zum leistenden Rehabilitationsträger wird.
  3. Wenn dieser zweite Rehabilitationsträger auch nicht zuständig ist, kann er den Antrag an den nach seiner Auffassung zuständigen Rehabilitationsträger im Einvernehmen weiterleiten (Turbo-Klärung). Dieser wird zum leistenden Rehabilitationsträger, auch wenn er nicht zuständig ist und kann den Antrag nicht mehr weiterleiten.
  4. Jeder leistende Rehabilitationsträger hat in der Regel innerhalb von drei Wochen nach Antragseingang über die Leistung zu entscheiden. Diese Frist verlängert sich im Falle einer Turbo-Klärung oder wenn Gutachten eingeholt werden müssen oder wenn andere Rehabilitationsträger beteiligt sind.
  5. Wenn auch andere Rehabilitationsträger zum Teil zuständig sind, muss der leistende Rehabilitationsträger diese einbeziehen und ein verbindliches Teilhabeplanverfahren (§§ 19 - 23 SGB IX-neu) durchführen - und zwar einheitlich, frühzeitig und zusammenhängend.
  6. Der leistende Rehabilitationsträger muss bei komplexen Fällen eine Teilhabeplankonferenz durchführen (mit antragsstellender Person, Rehabilitationsträgern und eventuell dem Integrationsamt, falls auch dieser ein Leistungsträger ist).

Weitere wichtige Punkte:

  • Der leistende Rehabilitationsträger muss die antragsstellende Person über den Stand des Antrags und über Weiterleitungen des Antrags informieren.
  • Der leistende Rehabilitationsträger kann den Antrag splitten und teilweise weiterleiten.
  • Der leistende Rehabilitationsträger muss in Vorleistung gehen, wenn andere zuständige Leistungsträger nicht fristgerecht leisten. Die Leistungsträger klären die Kostenerstattung untereinander.
  • Die Dauer des gesamten Verfahrens beträgt in der Regel sechs bis acht Wochen (ohne beziehungsweise mit Gutachten).
  • Die Dauer bei mehreren beteiligten Rehabilitationsträgern (§ 15 SGB IX) beträgt sechs Wochen ab Antragseingang beim leistenden Rehabilitationsträger und acht Wochen, wenn eine Teilhabeplankonferenz bei komplexen Fällen nötig ist.
  • Wenn nach zwei Monaten keine schriftliche Mitteilung oder eine unberechtigte Ablehnung erfolgt ist, gilt der Antrag als genehmigt (Genehmigungsfiktion nach § 18 SGB IX - Erstattung selbstbeschaffter Leistung). Dies gilt allerdings nicht für Träger der Eingliederungshilfe, Träger der öffentlichen Jugendhilfe, Träger der Kriegsopferfürsorge und für die Integrationsämter.
  • Wird ein Antrag abgelehnt, kann man Widerspruch einlegen.